The Day I Forgot


I knew it would happen – just a matter of time before I pulled into my garage and somehow forget to take the 7 seconds needed to plug #217 in. Then wake up to the nauseating reality that I don’t have enough juice to drive to work.

Today is that day.

In a weird way, I’m glad it’s happened, because now I’ll be certain to never do it again. Since for most people, “I ran out of gas” is a one-time learning event (outside of dating scenarios), I imagine this will be the same.

But it does point out a fundamental difference between the electric- & gas-powered models: running out of gas probably means a 20-min delay in your plans (unless you’re out of normal service areas), whereas running out of electrons means – in my case – a 2-hour delay. Though obviously the benefits of driving an electric-powered vehicle outweigh this relatively small, wholly-avoidable, inconvenience.

One unexpected realization was how this little hiccup has proven how much I’ve come to enjoy driving #217. I was well and truly pissed-off on my entire commute this morning – ticked that I had to drive my very comfortable, very powerful luxury-sedan (an Infiniti G35) instead of my stripped-down MINI Cooper with the slightly uncomfortable seat, no sun roof and the lack of basic amenities like cruise control. I didn’t realize how much I’ve come to appreciate the little joys of driving an electric car, like feathering the accelerator, the zip of the electric-torque, enjoying the regen-braking on the downhills, etc.

Whether it’s a Chevy Volt or a Tesla Sedan, I’m definitely going to be in the market for another electric car after this test is over.

2 responses to “The Day I Forgot

  1. I wondered about this….I wondered a LOT about this. And how it would affect your opinion if it ever happened. Obviously, it has not destroyed the great impressions and benefits, which is appreciable. But at the same time, it does indicate that a higher level of responsibility is taken on, not just within mileage concerns and the added costs and research of getting the vehicle in the first place, but in a day to day maintenance of the system in place. It is a good thing to keep in mind, especially for the day, someday, when younger drivers will be learning to drive and maintain vehicles of their own. Maybe when our generation has kids of driving age, the gas pump protocol will be obsolete. And it will be the…don’t forget to plug in, Bobby. I like this new world, I reckon.

    • Too right Amanda – the trade-off of an electric car means you exchange more involved but occasional responsibilities (gas, oil changes, etc.) for a small but daily responsibility (plug in, you idiot). I imagine for kids being weened on the digitalization of everything, this feel completely natural – after all, they have to plug in everything else, like their phone, laptop, rechargeable batteries and the like. But for the rest of us, I imagine it’ll take at least one or two times of screwing ourselves up by forgetting, until it becomes second nature.

Leave a Reply

